Waiting Three Hours for a Church Service

(All names were changed, as usual.)

Last Sunday I had a small group church meeting in the afternoon. When I was ready to leave I noticed there was a lady sitting by the curb side of our church parking lot. I thought I recognized her, and I approached her for a greeting. Indeed it was Elaine sitting there. Elaine is a homeless person that has visited our church service once before. She was one of our clients from our Church’s outreach soup kitchen. She told me that she was waiting for the start of our evening service, which had three hours of waiting time!

I was very impressed by her patience. She had no radio or IPad to pass the time, but she could enjoy the nice weather of a comfortable California afternoon. When I paused to talk to her, I did notice the pleasant weather. Had I dashed off to my next appointment as I usually do then I would have missed this experience.


(Photo by Adrian van Leen, Creative Commons public domain license)

Leave a Reply

