Sleeping in a Wastebasket

By Wusel007 (own work) CC-BY-SA-3.0
By Wusel007, CC-BY-SA-3.0

This was a vivid dream that I had earlier this year. The image of this dream just burned in my mind, so I still remembered it clearly.

In the beginning of the dream I was just floating in the air, looking down on a public side-walk. It was a misty morning and I could feel a chill in the air. I saw there was a large metal wastebasket by the side-walk, and there was a person sleeping in it! I looked closer and I could see clearly that this was a homeless person in his early 50’s, with a neat white beard. He had a well-worn blue jacket, and slept with his arms folded in front of him. This must have been uncomfortable for him, sleeping in a metal wastebasket like this. However, I had a sense that he wanted to be seen, and indeed this was his way of protesting with his whole being in this place. He wanted God to see this, and somehow God has dragged me to this place to witness this scene as well!

I grew terrified of this notion, and woke up with a startle. The vision did not go away initially, but hung in front of me like a still picture for a few seconds, than it was gone.
What was the meaning of this dream? I gave it a lot of thought on that day. I concluded that God do see the plights of the homeless people, and He showed me this scene to make a very serious point that he sees everything.

For a long time I was very hesitant sharing this dream to anyone outside of my family. During these few months I had more interactions with the homeless people through my Church’s outreach program, and I had to change my mind about any preconceived notions I had about them. So I am sharing this dream with you.


Heavenly father, you are our mighty creator. I thank you for your concern for every one of us, especially the ones who are hurting and discarded. Make us see them and make us respond from the heart. In Jesus’ name we pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

